Quantity: 

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
 
   
More Buying Choices

65 used & new from $1.15

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
 
   
Tell a Friend
So Far from the Bamboo Grove
 
See larger image
 
So Far from the Bamboo Grove (Paperback)
by Yoko Kawashawa Watkins
(148 customer reviews)    
List Price: $5.99
Price: $5.99 & eligible for FREE Super Saver Shipping on orders over $25. Details

Availability: In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Want it delivered Tuesday, January 23? Order it in the next 33 hours and 36 minutes, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. See details

65 used & new available from $1.15

Customer Reviews
Average Customer Review:
Number of Reviews: 148
Write an online review and share your thoughts with other customers.
Search Customer Reviews (What's this?)

Show:  

1-10 of 148 | next

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Apology, January 21, 2007
Reviewer:Morida Takashi (Tyler, TX) - See all my reviews
On behalf of all the other "normal" Japanese, I do apologize for those obssesive insanity of 'shjb' (aka delta ). He is a disgrace to Japanese society. Gomen nasai.


 Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



5 of 9 people found the following review helpful:

japanese people's political artifact. , January 21, 2007
Reviewer:Shinwoo Kim (NY, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a result of japanese people's subtle political artifact. They are trying to mislead the world without regreting what they did to the rest of the world. You can read this book, but bear in mind that they did worse things to Koreans.

If german complains about Jewish people by raping their woman during the war time, it would be a total nonsense. This book is like a German complaining about what the Jews did during the war time. Got it?



 Comment (1) | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



4 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Not recommend at all !!! Shame on the author!!!!!!!!, January 21, 2007
Reviewer:I. Lucks "True Color" (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is all about lies. I wasted time and money.
Shame on the auther!!!!! I couldn't believe what the author was thinking and writing ?????
It shouldn't be used in school,and School Committee should review this one very carefully.
I want to say " too far from the truth ".
By the way, 0 star is needed here. even 1star is too much here.

 Comment (1) | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



13 of 17 people found the following review helpful:

Never recommended, January 20, 2007
Reviewer:H. Kang "History Philosophy" (UT, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've heard about this book with diverse opinions from my friends and others... Since I am a history geek (especailly, Asian history)I had to read this book to figure out the rumor. My conclusion is, this book is very distorted and deviated from the truth.
I was very wondering that how is the author possibiliy published this book in the name of 'the fact of the history?' This is not a fact. Just distorted Korean history which is written by very opinionated Japanese.
Again, if you are a reader who got decent educational background with common sense, you will certainly fail to see this book as a great resource to understand the history of Korea and Japan.

 Comments (4) | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



12 of 15 people found the following review helpful:

Sad and scary to mislead the youth..., January 20, 2007
Reviewer:J. MIN "'truth is out there'" (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was appalled to hear that this book was chosen as teaching tool and read by so many youth and they have rated this book highly. This book is utter fiction and if you have any little knowledge and background fact of that era should know. Yoko, I wonder how you can sleep at night after this. So far from the truth, it makes me pity you.

 Comments (8) | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



16 of 20 people found the following review helpful:

Shame on you Yoko, January 20, 2007
Reviewer:Sunam Lee "Peace to all only who deserve" (OC CA. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
White lies....
Remember what you Japanese pepole have done to Asian people, especially in Korea in the past for the notorious 36 years of colonial times.

We can forgive the past, however, can not forget what you have done.
Shame on you Yoko.

-Restless with fury in irvine California -

 Comments (3) | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



16 of 20 people found the following review helpful:

terrible..terrible.., January 20, 2007
Reviewer:kate H. cho - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm so worried about anyone who read this book...it's based on wrong informaion about history..so far far from truth.....This book is very dangerous to be used in the classroom.Even one star is more than enough

 Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



24 of 27 people found the following review helpful:

I am afraid of the wrong information., January 20, 2007
Reviewer:W. S. Yun (College Station, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Since it's a fiction, there may be no responsibility for author to tell the historical truth. However, this story is totally opposite to the truth. Thus, I am so afraid of the possibility that readers can have the wrong information about Asian history of 1940s. I can not criticize its literary value, but I can definitely say that it's wrong in terms of historical point of veiw.

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



21 of 25 people found the following review helpful:

What a fiction!!!, January 20, 2007
Reviewer:H. Kim "Korean AAzoomma" (Cerritos, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a junk!
If you already have it, through it away!
the author is a lier and she doesn't know the true history.
Or she get senile!

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



25 of 29 people found the following review helpful:

Well, good writing but full of misconceptions. , January 20, 2007
Reviewer:Kristine "metaphysics" (Indiana, US) - See all my reviews
Well, full of stories which can lead to a misconception toward true history.

The background of this book is 1940s when Korea was occupied by Japan. Especially, this era is very important to Asian history, because millions of Koreans were killed by the Japanese troops around 1940s.
Unfortunately, the author only elaborated on her personal experiences in the window of invaders' view points.

She even didn't mention that the reason why her dad stayed in the northern part of Korea in 1940s. Many Korean faced Holocaust because of the Japanese troops, who stayed in the northern part in Korea, where the author's dad worked for. Koreans were slaughtered by Japanese soldiers under the name of medical experiences.

Since this author only focuses on her personal pain when Japan was defeated, ignoring essential historical background, I even can say that this book is perilous for young children who are lack of intricate historical fact.


 Comment (1) | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



1-10 of 148 | next

 
Feedback
If you need help or have a question for Customer Service, contact us.
Would you like to update product info or give feedback on images? (We'll ask you to sign in so we can get back to you)
Is there any other feedback you would like to provide? Click here

Where's My Stuff?
Shipping & Returns
Need Help?
Search   

Your Recent History
Learn more
Recently Viewed Categories

Amazon.com
Recent Searches

yoko korea
my brother, my syster, and i
Customers with similar searches also bought:
My Brother, My Sister, and I
My Brother, My Sister, and I
by Yoko Kawashima Watkins
Children's Literature, Briefly, Third Edition
Children's Literature, Briefly, Third Edition
by James S. Jacobs
View & edit Your Browsing History
Conditions of Use | Privacy Notice © 1996-2007, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates