Quantity: 

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
 
   
More Buying Choices

65 used & new from $1.15

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
 
   
Tell a Friend
So Far from the Bamboo Grove
 
See larger image
 
So Far from the Bamboo Grove (Paperback)
by Yoko Kawashawa Watkins
(148 customer reviews)    
List Price: $5.99
Price: $5.99 & eligible for FREE Super Saver Shipping on orders over $25. Details

Availability: In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Want it delivered Tuesday, January 23? Order it in the next 33 hours and 56 minutes, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. See details

65 used & new available from $1.15

Customer Reviews
Average Customer Review:
Number of Reviews: 148
Write an online review and share your thoughts with other customers.
Search Customer Reviews (What's this?)

Show:  

previous | 11-20 of 148 | next

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful:

Poorly written in every sense!, January 20, 2007
Reviewer:Madison Vahn - See all my reviews
This book is so boring and it drags the reader into boredom land. Not only is the book based on faulty history, it is racially motivated. I cannot recommend this poorly written book to anyone especially to young readers

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



18 of 21 people found the following review helpful:

Not worth, January 20, 2007
Reviewer:J. Lee "Indiana" - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this is not based on truth. Flase information is no better than nothing

 Comments (5) | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



36 of 39 people found the following review helpful:

Spend your money on something else..., January 20, 2007
Reviewer:C. Shim - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
IT WAS TOTALLY WASTING OF MY TIME TO READ THIS BOOK.... So boring!!

 Comments (10) | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



40 of 43 people found the following review helpful:

so far from the truth, January 20, 2007
Reviewer:Sarah Kim (Orange County, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
despite many historical errors in this book, i have no problem with the author exercising her first amendment right or consumers spending their time and money in whatever and however way it pleases them.

however, i have problem with this book's target audience being children ages 9 to 12 since it places things out of perspective.

remember, yoko's people/ govt/ father were the oppressor and people she claims to have resented her people (aka koreans) were the oppressed. many korean (+ other asian) girls her age at the time were being kidnapped to be sexual slaves for the japanese soldiers.

yoko may have enjoyed happy life in america after her horrible experience while her counterpart korean girls spent rest of their life in hopelessness and destitution.

as a korean-american, i personally have nothing against the author or the japanese people. i just do not want my child or any children for that matter to read this book in school since there is nothing educational about this book.

 Comments (9) | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



37 of 40 people found the following review helpful:

Look at the other side of the story, January 20, 2007
Reviewer:Kyong Mi Choi (NJ, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Frequently, we make mistakes to judge people, society, or even another country based on what we know. However, what we know from a book or this book, does not represent the story of the era or even the situation it had happened, especially when Japanese invaded Korean peninsula. Japanese horrible actions made not only Koreans but also almost all east asian countries think of japan terribly. To be an open-minded person or reader, we read books; when we read books, we need to remember all we read from one book do not tell all true story or may say from one side of situations. Educated readers have to know how to look the other side of the story not only what we have just read.

 Comments (6) | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



39 of 42 people found the following review helpful:

Huh?!, January 20, 2007
Reviewer:Andre Vanha (Denver, CO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I can not believe this. Everybody in this world knows that all the invaders did something horrible to the people who have been envaded. There is no such thing as a peaceful take over. All the pictures prove what Japanese did to Koreans in the early 20th centry at least. Therefore this book is fiction and it is not worth to read.

 Comments (4) | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



36 of 39 people found the following review helpful:

Not worth reading. Biased & distorted view of history., January 20, 2007
Reviewer:Jenn - See all my reviews
I agree with many readers here who rated this book not worth reading at all. The author may have great writing skills but unfortunately the book does not reflect the true history during the World War II. Furthermore this book can greatly harm the mentality of young children who have no accurate background knowledge of the World War II and the war crimes committed by the Japanese government. From the very beginning of the book - the title - it is clear that this book is far from the truth. There're hardly any bamboo trees in Northern Korea.

 Comments (7) | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



38 of 40 people found the following review helpful:

Do not waste your money and time, January 20, 2007
Reviewer:H. Won (AZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
it's absurd that this garbage-like book is chosen for teaching..I am wondering if the people who chose this book ever learned Asian history.

 Comments (14) | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



30 of 33 people found the following review helpful:

Waste of your money, January 20, 2007
Reviewer:E. Cho "Bookwarm" (DC, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Waste of time and money. Plus this is not about true history. The author should have taken any kind of world history lesson before writing this trash.

 Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



36 of 39 people found the following review helpful:

Only if I could give a book 0 star rating..., January 20, 2007
Reviewer:H. Ahn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
rating this book on the scale which has 1 star to 5 stars seems just absurd because this book deserves no star at all.
Read it only if you support ideaology behind holocaust....
Read it if you want to get the sickening view of how somebody can distort the history and misrepresent the true events.

If you think you would feel sorry for a daughter who did not have her dad attend her birthday party because her dad was busy molesting and killing 1000 little girls, you would enjoy it. Sound too unfair and nasty?? This book is just like that. If the author has any knowledge of what happen between Korea and Japan at that time and what Japanese people did to Korean girls at the time, she would never tell the world how ignorant she is about her own country's history.

What makes it more sickening is that she decided to write it for children!!

 Comments (11) | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



previous | 11-20 of 148 | next

 
Feedback
If you need help or have a question for Customer Service, contact us.
Would you like to update product info or give feedback on images? (We'll ask you to sign in so we can get back to you)
Is there any other feedback you would like to provide? Click here

Where's My Stuff?
Shipping & Returns
Need Help?
Search   

Your Recent History
Learn more
Recently Viewed Categories

Amazon.com
Recent Searches

yoko korea
my brother, my syster, and i
Customers with similar searches also bought:
My Brother, My Sister, and I
My Brother, My Sister, and I
by Yoko Kawashima Watkins
Children's Literature, Briefly, Third Edition
Children's Literature, Briefly, Third Edition
by James S. Jacobs
View & edit Your Browsing History
Conditions of Use | Privacy Notice © 1996-2007, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates