Quantity: 

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
 
   
More Buying Choices

65 used & new from $1.15

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
 
   
Tell a Friend
So Far from the Bamboo Grove
 
See larger image
 
So Far from the Bamboo Grove (Paperback)
by Yoko Kawashawa Watkins
(148 customer reviews)    
List Price: $5.99
Price: $5.99 & eligible for FREE Super Saver Shipping on orders over $25. Details

Availability: In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Want it delivered Tuesday, January 23? Order it in the next 33 hours and 55 minutes, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. See details

65 used & new available from $1.15

Customer Reviews
Average Customer Review:
Number of Reviews: 148
Write an online review and share your thoughts with other customers.
Search Customer Reviews (What's this?)

Show:  

previous | 81-90 of 148 | next

14 of 63 people found the following review helpful:

So Far From the Bamboo Grove, March 14, 2004
Reviewer:J Fujii (Cerritos, CA. USA) - See all my reviews
So Far From the Bamboo Grove
By: Yoko Kawashima Watkins
Reviewed by: J Fujii
Period: P.5
The book So Far From the Bamboo Grove by Yoko Kawaahima Watkins is an autobiography of the author's journey to Japan during World War II. Yoko, her mother, her honorable sister Ko, and her honorable brother Hideyo, who were living in Korea had to return to Japan because during the war, the Koreans set up a Communist Army against the Japnese. The Korean's did this to kick out the Japanese and even kill them because the Japanese had invaded Korea. . THerefore when mother, Ko and Yoko decided to escape to Seoul. However, since thwy had lived in Korea for a long time, Hideyo wanted to join the Korean army. He didn't pass the test for the army so instead he went to work for an ammunition building. Yoko, Ko, and mother were able to get on a train to Seoul, but got off when the train was attacked by airplanes. Around the same time when the train was attacked, Hideyo's ammunition building was also attacked by the communist army. Some of the boys tried to attack the army, but ended up dying. Hideyo hid behind some boxes and acted dead. Once the army left, Hideyo found his friends Shoichi, Makoto, and Shinzo alive. The four boys then go on a journey to Seoul. Afterawhile, the boys split up and Hideyo is now on the journey alone. Around the same time, Ko, mother, and Yoko were almost caught, but a bomb fell and killed the soldiers who were trying to catch them. The women took the soldier's clothes. The women then safely rode the train to Seoul. They then boarded a boat to Japan. For awhile they lived at the dock until mother enrolled Yoko and Ko in school. Soon after, mother died and then Ko and Yoko lived with a women named, Mrs. Masuda. They lives there until the ed of the book. Meanwhile, Hideyo was now traveling by foot in the cold winter. Afamily found him on their doorsteps, unconscious. The family was able to revive him and made hideyo part of his family until he left. At the end of the book, Hideyo found Yoko and Ko back in Japan.
I liked the book because it talks about journey of a Japanese family headinf for Japan and leaving behind memories of Korea, during World War II. The following quote comes from the part when Yoko, mother, and Ko are on the train to Seoul and see their house go by: "The train passed by them. I twisted my head to the right to watch. The red roof, the willow tree, and the radio antenna drew farther away. Soon they were out of m sight."
i also disliked because there was a lot of death. The saddest part was when mother died. Right before she died she said, "I wish Ko would come." Then minutes later mother died. I also disliked the book because it had alot of blood. For example, Hideyo had to use someone else's blood so he could act dead when the soldiers came through the ammunition building.
My favorite part of the book is when Hideyo finds Yoko and Ko. That scene is the only happiness in the book. It means that the love of the family kept them hoping that the other members of the family were still alive. The book tells you to never give up hope.

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



11 of 50 people found the following review helpful:

So Far From the Bamboo Grove, February 5, 2004
Reviewer: A reader
This is a wonderful tale of survival. Watkins does a tremendous job of describing these heart breaking scenes step by step. So Far From the Bamboo Grove is one of the best books ever. This story has many scenes to think about especially because it's from a point of view you may have never thought about!

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



12 of 55 people found the following review helpful:

A Wonderful book, but sometimes a bit too violent, January 15, 2004
Reviewer:Alex (Bkk, Thailand) - See all my reviews
After reading this book. I had to stop and think: did the events described in this book this really happen? I found out later that they were real, and I was greatly surprised by this, due to their horribly violent nature. Which is why I would not recommend it for children under 14. But these graphic events, in a way, help make the book much more interesting, as it portrays the events from the point of view of someone opposite the US during the war and therefore, showing events which people from the Allied factions would not mention or would cover up. Anyone who thinks that war is all victorious glory should read this book too. It shines light on the true horrors of war and death without softening the blow.
Overall, I think it is a wonderful book, and would make a good read for anyone, except possibly some people who feel very strongly biased towards any side of the Japanese-Korean conflict during that period because of its content.
Anyone who thinks that war is all victorious glory should read this book too. It shines light on the true horrors of war and death without softening the blow.

 Comment (1) | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



11 of 53 people found the following review helpful:

An incredible book, January 15, 2004
Reviewer:Alex (Bkk, Thailand) - See all my reviews
After reading this book. I had to stop and think: did the events described in this book this really happen? I found out later that they were real, and I was greatly surprised by this, due to their horribly violent nature. Which is why I would not recommend it for children under 14. But these graphic events, in a way, help make the book much more interesting, as it portrays the events from the point of view of someone opposite the US during the war and therefore, showing events which people from the Allied factions would not mention or would cover up. Overall, I think it is a wonderful book, and would make a good read for anyone, except possibly some people who feel very strongly biased towards any side of the Japanese-Korean conflict during that period because of its content.

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



11 of 51 people found the following review helpful:

Very touching and moving book, June 12, 2003
Reviewer:SK (PDX) - See all my reviews
This book is a rare type of work which you do not find often. Usually a book is about a Korean family who tries to escape from the North, but this is a Japanese family who had to go through the same type of hardship to escape the escalating power of the Korean Communists. Watkins did an incredible job of portraying the situation of that time through the eyes of a young person.

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



10 of 49 people found the following review helpful:

Vendredi avril 11 2003, April 11, 2003
Reviewer:B.Brock (CA USA) - See all my reviews
I loved the book, so far from the bamboo grove, it completely enriched and enlightened me about what was happening in 1945, and i hate history books, the text books you can't get into, it just facts... i don't learn that way but reading this book made me want to learn more about history and world war II, Yoko Kawashima had put her heart and soul into this book and it was amazing to feel so much for such a wonderful book. I was so sad half the time and then i was so proud as well, thinking of Yoko as myself or my little sister. It was a terrific read and i hope everyone enjoys it as much as i did. thank you.

 Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



9 of 49 people found the following review helpful:

So Far From the Bamboo Grove Review, February 27, 2003
Reviewer:KH (Norwalk, CA) - See all my reviews
So Far From the Bamboo Grove
By: Yoko Kawashima Watkins
Reviewed By: K. Huynh
Period: 1

So Far From the Bamboo Grove is an autobiography of Yoko Kawashima Watkins, who lived during the period of World War 2. The other characters in the book are: Ko, Yoko's older sister, Hideyo, Yoko's older brother, and Yoko's mother. Yoko's father was a Japanese government officials who works in Manchuria, so he wasn't living with her at that time. Yoko's brother Hideyo, one day decides to work for the army. His mother encouraged him not to go, but he insisted. Luckily, Yoko's mother found out that Hideyo didn't pass the exam so he had to work in a factory instead. But, just when Yoko's family think that everything else would go smooth, it hasn't. One night, Corporal Matsumara, a soldier fighting in the war, saved them by giving them permission to go to the train station and head to Seoul. Yoko was wondering why they have to do that, but finds out soon enough that Korean Communist armies are planning to kill them. Before they know it, they head on to the train and had no idea what lay ahead of them. All they know is that they are going to have a difficult, long, and suprising journey.
What I like about the book is how Yoko, Ko, and their mother seem to bond with each other. Ko usually was the one helping them get food, their mother makes sure that they are both safe, and Yoko following the path of her honorable sister. I like the book because it is exciting and the events that happen are in order. It wasn't a made-up story and I experience how it's like to live during a war. "The other Korean Communist soldier was walking among the patients, poking at them with the tip of his gun. My teeth were chattering, my heart thumping. The soldier poke at my side." That shows exactly how it's like living in a war where anything can happen. You could be attacked at anytime. It is a terrific story, full of action.
What I dislike about the book is how they barely talk much about their father. They only say that he works in Manchuria, but no info on whether he is still alive or not. The book had too little characters, and there was only two main characters: Ko and Yoko. The ending of the book was too fast. It didn't explain what they did after their reunion. It also didn't have a lot of incidents that happen when Hideyo was working at the factory. I didn't know all of his classmates when he was working there. "None of the four young men could sleep for thinking of this, their last night together." Hideyo and his friends were going to separate and weren't going to see each other for time being, making Hideyo lonesome.
My favorite part of the book is when Ko and Yoko finally arrived in Japan. They both went to school there, but the kids keep teasing Yoko. For supper, Ko would usually find food in the garbage cans or buy food from the money she earned. Yoko's shoes were torn and she tried working to earn money to buy new ones. But, she never did. She would usually have many chances, but she keeps changing her mind. Yoko still had many challenges ahead of her. She had went through an adventure that she'll never forget. She went through a bitter, difficult, and rough life, but overcame them all.

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



9 of 48 people found the following review helpful:

Great book for Seventh Graders, June 7, 2002
Reviewer: A reader
I assigned my seventh grade class to read this book over the summer and they all came back to school telling me that they absolutely loved it! I read it myself and was inspired by this well writen book. I think that my class learned a lot from it and I will continue asigning this book in future years.
It is about a girl named Yoko who has to leave her home because she is Japanease. She leaves with her mother and her sister. Also, her brother has to escape by himself from the factory he was working at and has to catch up with his family. Tgis book is great and I think that everyone, 10 and up, should read it.

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



7 of 45 people found the following review helpful:

What I thought about "So Far From the Bamboo Grove", June 7, 2002
A Kid's Review
"So Far From the Bamboo Grove" is a exciting and inspiring book about a Japanease girl, Yoko and her family trying to get out of Korea. Her family is in danger because the Koreans want to kill all of the Japanease in Korea. This is a true story and happened after the Pearl Harbor bombing.
This is a very good book and I was touched by it. From reading this book, I now understand what it was like for the Japanease during this sad and scary time. I usually hear about this time period and this event from an American's point of veiw. I got really into this book and finished it in one day. It was very exciting and I was never bored of reading it. I wanted to keep on going to find out what happened in the end.

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



7 of 45 people found the following review helpful:

What i thought of this book, May 18, 2002
A Kid's Review
i thought this book was an exciting story. Yoko made mefee like i was in the story. Her writing made me read her other books like My Brother my Sister And I .i enjoied this book and others will to.

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



previous | 81-90 of 148 | next

 
Feedback
If you need help or have a question for Customer Service, contact us.
Would you like to update product info or give feedback on images? (We'll ask you to sign in so we can get back to you)
Is there any other feedback you would like to provide? Click here

Where's My Stuff?
Shipping & Returns
Need Help?
Search   

Your Recent History
Learn more
Recently Viewed Categories

Amazon.com
Recent Searches

yoko korea
my brother, my syster, and i
Customers with similar searches also bought:
My Brother, My Sister, and I
My Brother, My Sister, and I
by Yoko Kawashima Watkins
Children's Literature, Briefly, Third Edition
Children's Literature, Briefly, Third Edition
by James S. Jacobs
View & edit Your Browsing History
Conditions of Use | Privacy Notice © 1996-2007, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates