Quantity: 

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
 
   
More Buying Choices

65 used & new from $1.15

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
 
   
Tell a Friend
So Far from the Bamboo Grove
 
See larger image
 
So Far from the Bamboo Grove (Paperback)
by Yoko Kawashawa Watkins
(148 customer reviews)    
List Price: $5.99
Price: $5.99 & eligible for FREE Super Saver Shipping on orders over $25. Details

Availability: In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Want it delivered Tuesday, January 23? Order it in the next 33 hours and 55 minutes, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. See details

65 used & new available from $1.15

Customer Reviews
Average Customer Review:
Number of Reviews: 148
Write an online review and share your thoughts with other customers.
Search Customer Reviews (What's this?)

Show:  

previous | 91-100 of 148 | next

7 of 43 people found the following review helpful:

So far from the Bamboo Grove, March 23, 2002
Reviewer:"winnie991" (Danvers, MA United States) - See all my reviews
Best book I ever read with my daughters. Yoko is the most amazing woman I have ever read about. I thank her from the bottom of my heart from writing her accounts of the war and afterward. ( in the sequel- "My brother, mys sister and I"). I thank her for meeting with children so that they know she is real. I have met some famous people in my life, but none more amazing that Yoko Watkins. I recoomend you read her book, then askl your school to hire her to speak. AMAZING!

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



7 of 40 people found the following review helpful:

So Far From The Bamboo Grove, February 27, 2002
Reviewer:A 12-year old reader "rissmal" (Live Oak, FL) - See all my reviews
A young Japanese girl, named Yoko, or little one - as her family calls her, is living in Korea with her family during World War II. They have to flee because the Korean government was after them because of who their father was. Yoko and her mother and sister went through many hardships during this war and found little peace.

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



5 of 45 people found the following review helpful:

touching and sad, January 29, 2002
Reviewer: A reader
its really a good book very touching
i hope you take the time to read it.
i will do it again.

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



4 of 39 people found the following review helpful:

Wonderful, January 21, 2002
A Kid's Review
This is the book that BJH read in class. We had tests and a lot of very educationsl stuff about it. We learned about the diiferent palces and the laws then. We had a lot to learn but the story is very sad but still true. The sequal was very sad too. I feel that we need more emotional writer now to write stories and to tell stories fiction or not. This is a very good book and I reccomend it people of all ages

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



5 of 41 people found the following review helpful:

my favorite!, November 15, 2001
A Kid's Review
I personally love this book! I'm doing a book report for school on my favorite book. Guess what I'm doing?! I love how Yoko and the rest of her family have the bravery to go on a LONG journey. And, it's a true story!

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



5 of 42 people found the following review helpful:

Wonderful!, October 21, 2001
Reviewer: A reader
This book moved me to read every book in the library on Korean fiction. The way she told the story brought you with Yoko on her struggle to her destination. The fact that most of the story is true makes it even sadder than it was. I loved every minute of this book, and everyone else will too.

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



4 of 39 people found the following review helpful:

so far from the bamboo grove, October 3, 2001
Reviewer:mitchell - See all my reviews
When I read So Far From the Bamboo Grove. I noticed that the author tried to make the book very very disruptive. I like how he went into the stories and made me even fell like I was inside the book. Because when I read the begin of the book it needs to be interesting. For me though almost all are to boring because they don`t catch my attention. I think this book is an exception because it went into so much detail about the characters, stories, houses, and scenes so when I read the book I could, believe it or not I read on in the book for the fact that it was for fun and I didn't have to read it for Langue Arts.

I also thought that the plot of the book was very good to. I liked how the author had a cliffhanger at the end of each chapter. He never gave to much information away about what was going to happen next. And at the end of each chapter I always was asking myself I wonder what happens next.
Overall I thought that it was a great book. On a scale of 1-10 I would give it a 9.5 ,I loved the book

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



4 of 40 people found the following review helpful:

so far from the bamboo grove, October 3, 2001
Reviewer: A reader
When I read So Far From the Bamboo Grove. I noticed that the author tried to make the book very very disruptive. I like how he went into the stories and made me even fell like I was inside the book. Because when I read the begin of the book it needs to be interesting. For me though almost all are to boring because they don`t catch my attention. I think this book is an exception because it went into so much detail about the characters, stories, houses, and scenes so when I read the book I could, believe it or not I read on in the book for the fact that it was for fun and I didn't have to read it for Langue Arts.

I also thought that the plot of the book was very good to. I liked how the author had a cliffhanger at the end of each chapter. He never gave to much information away about what was going to happen next. And at the end of each chapter I always was asking myself I wonder what happens next.
Overall I thought that it was a great book. On a scale of 1-10 I would give it a 9.5 ,I loved the book

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



5 of 41 people found the following review helpful:

I Cried, August 3, 2001
Reviewer: A reader
I felt so bad and I was embaressed because I almost cried in class. Everytime I see it I tell people that they must read it. It is about a Japanese girl liveing in Korea with her family. Her father is a Japanese Diplomat. They belive that her father and brother died. They have to go to Japan during WWII. This is about two girls and their mother being very brave because they have to be brave.

 Comment (1) | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



4 of 37 people found the following review helpful:

Great Book!, July 25, 2001
Reviewer: A reader
This was a great book, and I also read the squel. Some say it is rated "Pg-13" It is a little gory, but Of course I am only 12, and I did read both of them. I think it was wonderful, and the squel as well

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



previous | 91-100 of 148 | next

 
Feedback
If you need help or have a question for Customer Service, contact us.
Would you like to update product info or give feedback on images? (We'll ask you to sign in so we can get back to you)
Is there any other feedback you would like to provide? Click here

Where's My Stuff?
Shipping & Returns
Need Help?
Search   

Your Recent History
Learn more
Recently Viewed Categories

Amazon.com
Recent Searches

yoko korea
my brother, my syster, and i
Customers with similar searches also bought:
My Brother, My Sister, and I
My Brother, My Sister, and I
by Yoko Kawashima Watkins
Children's Literature, Briefly, Third Edition
Children's Literature, Briefly, Third Edition
by James S. Jacobs
View & edit Your Browsing History
Conditions of Use | Privacy Notice © 1996-2007, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates