Quantity: 

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
 
   
More Buying Choices

65 used & new from $1.15

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
 
   
Tell a Friend
So Far from the Bamboo Grove
 
See larger image
 
So Far from the Bamboo Grove (Paperback)
by Yoko Kawashawa Watkins
(148 customer reviews)    
List Price: $5.99
Price: $5.99 & eligible for FREE Super Saver Shipping on orders over $25. Details

Availability: In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Want it delivered Tuesday, January 23? Order it in the next 33 hours and 54 minutes, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. See details

65 used & new available from $1.15

Customer Reviews
Average Customer Review:
Number of Reviews: 148
Write an online review and share your thoughts with other customers.
Search Customer Reviews (What's this?)

Show:  

previous | 101-110 of 148 | next

4 of 37 people found the following review helpful:

Great Book!, July 25, 2001
Reviewer: A reader
This was a great book, and I also read the squel. ....It is a little gory, but Of course I am only 12, and I did read both of them. I think it was wonderful, and the squel as well

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



5 of 34 people found the following review helpful:

PG-13 Book - Horror of war told through a young girl's eyes, May 28, 2001
Reviewer:T. Coulson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I chose this book for a mother/daughter book group I belong to. It comes highly recommended for middle school aged children. However, by chapter 6 I had encountered every horror from people's head's exploding to dying babies and repeated accounts of rape. I think the book is frankly too horrible for children younger than high school. (In fact I'm not sure it wasn't too horrible for me.) True there are lots of cultural, historical and other thought provoking ideas to be discussed and some good structural and plot analysis that can be done with the book, but I don't think the extreme brutality of the circumstances should be presented to children. The story is well told, but not beautifully written. Not for pleasure reading that's for sure!

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



4 of 37 people found the following review helpful:

A very inspirational story, May 9, 2001
Reviewer:Aila (Palatka, FL United States) - See all my reviews
I rember reading this book when I was in the 5th grade. I was in the public libary, and I choose it because the cover was very interesting. But when I took it home, it took me to world war 2, where there was a war in Asia other than the one between Jpan, Europe, and America. It showed me what it was like for a young girl close to my age who had to survive through many disasters after another. Out of all the books I read when I was younger, this one stands out the most in my mind, and here I am 15. Yes, it was depressing but it was such a great book. I felt like I was Yoko. Then book was so emotional that I cried and rejoyced. Thanks to this book, it got me interested in the culture of Japan, and history. I now intend to live there at some point in my life, and am curently studing the language on my own time. I love this book, and I'd recomend it to any little girl, or boy.

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



13 of 34 people found the following review helpful:

right..., May 6, 2001
Reviewer: A reader
peaceful setting for them...the house they were living in was probably one a korean family got kicked out of...no one on this side of the earth knows what kind of things the japanese did to koreans during their occupation...but if you did, this book would probably disgust you with its tiny tunnel vision descriptions...i'm not saying it's a bad piece of literature, it's just how biased this writer was

 Comment (1) | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



4 of 39 people found the following review helpful:

So Far From the Bamboo Grove, April 28, 2001
A Kid's Review
This is an outstanding book that pulls you into the adventures of the past in WWII (World War 2.) It teaches many important lessons, though it is the most exciting book I have ever read! A young girl, Yoko, is living with her sister, brother, and mother, and her father is gone at war. Suddenly intruders bust into their house and they flee. The army is after their family...and their father! How will they escape, and still keep father from being caught? Read to find out! This is a very recommended book. Review by Tara from Lake Tahoe, California.

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



20 of 61 people found the following review helpful:

Very Moving, March 26, 2001
Reviewer:"kraider168" (Massachusetts, USA) - See all my reviews
This book, So Far from the Bamboo Grove, was a very touching and inspiring story. It really showed you a different perspective of life. Being a student at a good private school, I think that my life is much like what Yoko's life was before she fled Nanam. I can not imagine what it would be like to have my life torn away from me and suddenly be digging through garbage cans to survive. It also showed you a very different view towards World War II. Being an American, I have always believed that the Americans should win all wars, and the wartime stories I have read all have characters who want America and their allies to win. This story, about a Japanese girl, told of the struggles of being on the losing side of the war, something I had not read about before.

This emotional story tells the true story of Yoko Kawashima, an eleven-year-old Japanese girl living in Korea during the end of World War II. As danger creeps ever closer to her hometown of Nanam, she and her mother and honorable sister Ko must flee their home in the bamboo grove, without Yoko's father or honorable brother Hideyo. The story is a first-hand account of what it was like to escape the horrible war. The things that she had to survive through are so terrible, I thought there was death lurking around every corner. This story is true, and Yoko survives to this very day, making the story all the more inspirational. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to experience World War II from a young girl's eyes.

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



6 of 39 people found the following review helpful:

A book everyone should read!, March 6, 2001
A Kid's Review
Yoko Kawashima Watkins has composed a great book about the struggles of Yoko and her sister Ko. This biography is very moving and will give you a different perspective of life.

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



6 of 39 people found the following review helpful:

Great Book, February 16, 2001
A Kid's Review
This is a great book about a Japanese Family fleeing from the Korean army in search of them! Reccommended

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



6 of 37 people found the following review helpful:

True, February 2, 2001
Reviewer: A reader
Read this book! Very Good! Believe me! Shows lots of emotion tells of what it was like for a Japanese family in world warII. A very sad, scary, emotional, and true book. To me it is scary because I could never imagin this happening right now. It also scary because I know it is true. And you better believe me that is true also because I've met the author, she came to my school, and Yoko signed my book. If you read this book and like by the sequal! A wonderful auther she is that Yoko Kawashima Watkins! BUY THIS BOOK NOW !!!

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



5 of 36 people found the following review helpful:

AMAZING, January 13, 2001
Reviewer:Julia (Boulder, Colorado United States) - See all my reviews
I used to love only books about Acient Egyptians, then my librian at school recomended this book to me. When I was done reading it I was amazed! The story had really gotten to me. Now I LOVE to read non-fictional books about World War 2. If you liked this book I would recomend the book: The Den of the White Fox

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)



previous | 101-110 of 148 | next

 
Feedback
If you need help or have a question for Customer Service, contact us.
Would you like to update product info or give feedback on images? (We'll ask you to sign in so we can get back to you)
Is there any other feedback you would like to provide? Click here

Where's My Stuff?
Shipping & Returns
Need Help?
Search   

Your Recent History
Learn more
Recently Viewed Categories

Amazon.com
Recent Searches

yoko korea
my brother, my syster, and i
Customers with similar searches also bought:
My Brother, My Sister, and I
My Brother, My Sister, and I
by Yoko Kawashima Watkins
Children's Literature, Briefly, Third Edition
Children's Literature, Briefly, Third Edition
by James S. Jacobs
View & edit Your Browsing History
Conditions of Use | Privacy Notice © 1996-2007, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates